Print    Close This Window
National Honor Society and Alumni Hall of Fame
NHS inductees
The Byron-Bergen chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) welcomed 18 new student members to their distinguished company on March 21, 2024. The ceremony also honored the three latest inductees to the Byron-Bergen Alumni Hall of Fame: Tim Dermody (1981), Beverly Garlipp (1965), and Kate Michaels (2005).
The event began with a welcome and congratulations from District Superintendent Patrick McGee and Jr./Sr. High School Principal Paul Hazard followed by an address from Tim Dermody’s sister, Wendy Caccamise. 
The traditional National Honor Society candle lighting ceremony followed. It acknowledges the high standards students in NHS must exhibit in knowledge, character, leadership, service, and scholarship. The new members were called individually to receive their honor and then the group took the NHS pledge. 
The ceremony was followed by the induction of Garlipp and Michaels to the Alumni Hall of Fame. 
National Honor Society membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but also challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service. The organization has chapters in all 50 states, Canada, and beyond.